Sorry, for being so lazy with blogging lately. The bad news of it is that I had a couple of infrastructural problems which were unrelated, but in sum made work for a few days hell of slow. That situation improved so far. The good news is that the work as such is very exciting, with existing and new projects/ventures coming up. In addition, I am currently preparing for an extended weekend in Bangalore for the stagnight of Christian, a good friend of mine. If we don't get arrested and land in jail for what we plan to do, I will be happy to share that experience.
What I found quite "interesting" these days was a new shape of "human spam". Similar to the Nigeria connection with the stone-old fraudulent request to wire some money as a preliminary funding for a multimillion transfer that is imminent. *Yawn* "Human spam" infers that the cost of labour and hence it's opportunity cost is close to zero so that these types of real human interactions pay off in spite of a very low conversion rate. On a similar line I got a personalized e-mail from Netchina, a domain registrar from China pertaining to my company domain level360.com
A person named "Mars Zhou" (mars.zhou@netchina.org.cn) adressed me in a very sly manner with
++++++++++++
level360.com.cn
level360.com.hk
level360.com.tw
level360.hk
level360.net.cn
level360.org.cn
level360.tw
level360.mobi
++++++++++++++++++
I am willing to help you during the whole process. We will put every step of registration on file. Contacting you for a time, I have noticed that you are a responsible person. We are glad to assist you. As a domain registrar, I don't like to see the badman getting huge profits though domain squatting.
++++++++++++++++++
*Puke* In the first place, I did not react, just deleted the e-mail. However, remember "low cost of labour and opportunity cost close to zero", Mars Zhou doesn't give up that fast. Today I got another mail saying
+++++++++++
Dear Mr.
I am mars zhou,we always talk about the case of your company domain name recently,as aforesaid I told that the domain name registration is open to the world,we have no rights to interfere with other people to register .The auditing time is coming soon,have you decided?We need to arrange the records during the process of dealing with domain name registration ,all the files need to deliver to domain name disputed arbitration committee,we really want to help you ,but we haven't got any news from yu so far,it is hard for us to start our work, if you need to use your registration priority ,we will send you the application form to help you finish the registration,I know your time is precious,and so do ours,we hope thatyou can take out some time,let us together to deal with the case ,please give me your exact replyat the first time whenyou see the mail.
Best Regards,
Mars zhou
+++++++++++
Never mind the typos which I copied as they came. I felt the best response to this practise is to blog it. Will gladly submit the URL of this post to Mars Zhou who, together with his entire company, should indeed be shot to, well nomen est omen, Mars :-)



THANK YOU!!!! I have just had this email today - immediately googled this company and found your blog - I am VERY grateful as I put the bad grammar down to language difficulties and was about to respond. I will now delete the email. Thank you again - thank the good lord for people like you!
Hmmm.. This brings to mind a scam going on in the EU where they target Exhibitors at major exhibitions:
An Austrian Company called Construst Data Verlag AG targets exhibitors in large trade fairs. They send a misleading mailshot to exhibitors with the name of the trade fair the exhibitor attended thus many mistakenly consider it to be a communication from the fair organiser. They offer free advertising space in a trade fair directory. However, the small print means that firms who sign and return the enclosed form – even if simply amending or adding to the details provided – are committed to paying almost €1,000 a year for 3 years for entries into the directory.
They then send a collection agency called Premium Recovery AG based in Switzerland to follow up and collect the money.
Apparently these companies are beign clamped down in the EU and are now targetting Canadian and North American Companies.
See the following links:
http://www.eda.admin.ch/eda/en/home/reps/nameri/vusa/wasemb/waecon/wacomm.html
http://newsweaver.ie/sligoeic/e_article000472360.cfm
The Austrian Trade Commission in Toronto has verified this is a scam and authorities in Austria are working on this.